Coverart for item
The Resource Political pluralism, disagreement and justice : the case for polycentric democracy, Julian F. Müller

Political pluralism, disagreement and justice : the case for polycentric democracy, Julian F. Müller

Label
Political pluralism, disagreement and justice : the case for polycentric democracy
Title
Political pluralism, disagreement and justice
Title remainder
the case for polycentric democracy
Statement of responsibility
Julian F. Müller
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"This book poses the question, how can we organize the society in such a way that our disagreement about facts and norms works to the benefit of everyone? In response, it makes the argument for polycentric democracy, a political arrangement consisting of various political units that enjoy different degrees of independence. It is argued that to progress towards justice, we first need to change our attitude towards reasonable disagreement. Theorists have always viewed reasonable disagreement as nuisance, if not as a threat. However, this work puts forward that the diversity of perspectives which underlie reasonable disagreement, should be viewed as a resource to be harvested rather than a threat to be tamed. Resting on two key arguments, the author proposes the idea of polycentric democracy as the most capable method of making pluralism productive. The book explores what such a political order might look like and concludes that only an institutional system which is capable of profiting from diversity, such as polycentric democracy, might reasonably be expected to generate an overlapping consensus. Continuing in the tradition of Karl Popper and Friedrich A. Hayek, this book lies at the intersection of philosophy, political economy and political theory. It will be of great interest to academics and scholars working in philosophy, politics and economics"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1983-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Müller, Julian F.
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Series statement
Routledge frontiers of political economy
Series volume
258
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Democracy
  • Cultural pluralism
  • Economics
Label
Political pluralism, disagreement and justice : the case for polycentric democracy, Julian F. Müller
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The model: debating friends -- Rawls: property owning democracy -- Gutmann & Thompson: deliberative democracy -- Buchanan: the neoliberal state -- Escaping modus vivendi: summary -- Diversity: nuisance or asset? -- Deliberation and the gains of diversity -- Polycentric paradigm -- A polycentric political order -- The argument for polycentric democracy -- Concluding remarks
Control code
on1104189957
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
x, 221pages
Isbn
9781138228962
Lccn
2019003320
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations (black and white)
System control number
(OCoLC)1104189957
Label
Political pluralism, disagreement and justice : the case for polycentric democracy, Julian F. Müller
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The model: debating friends -- Rawls: property owning democracy -- Gutmann & Thompson: deliberative democracy -- Buchanan: the neoliberal state -- Escaping modus vivendi: summary -- Diversity: nuisance or asset? -- Deliberation and the gains of diversity -- Polycentric paradigm -- A polycentric political order -- The argument for polycentric democracy -- Concluding remarks
Control code
on1104189957
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
x, 221pages
Isbn
9781138228962
Lccn
2019003320
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations (black and white)
System control number
(OCoLC)1104189957

Library Locations

    • Badia FiesolanaBorrow it
      Via dei Roccettini 9, San Domenico di Fiesole, 50014, IT
      43.803074 11.283055
Processing Feedback ...